C2Asset 9.png

Te Waipounamu District Mãori Council 

Kia ora – Welcome to Te Waipounamu District Maori Council.

Chair: Norm Dewes
Deputy Chair: Henare Edwards
Secretary: Ngaio Te Ua
Treasurer: Jeanette Campbell

Norm Dewes
Ngaio Te Ua
Henare Manawatu

Henare Edwards
Lawrie Drew

Norm Dewes

Originally the whole of the South Island was one district that coincided with the Te Waipounamu Māori Land Court district.  Te Tau Ihu District Māori Council was cut out in the 1990’s leaving the balance of the land as the Te Waipounamu District Māori Council. The District includes the offshore islands including Stewart, Titi and the Chatham Islands.


Te Waipounamu District Mãori Council