top of page
C2Asset 9.png

Te Arawa District  Mãori Council 

Kia ora – Welcome to Te Arawa District Maori Council.



Anthony Bidois

Te Arawa District Mãori Council 

This comes from out of the Waiariki Māori Land Court District which was split into Te Arawa and Mataatua. The divider between them is the former route of the Tarawera river before it was diverted to service the forestry production plant at Kawerau.  So it starts at Matata although Matata itself is included in Mataatua.  The line runs up the Tarawera Valley to emerge south of Rainbow Mountain and south of Mt Tauhara to link up with the Māori Land Court boundary line from Waihaha across Lake Taupo. On the northern side Tirau, Putaruru  and Tokoroa now drop into Waikato as already mentioned.

bottom of page