The National 


"A strong team focused on the kaupapa and delivering for our people"


The National Executive of the New Zealand Maori Council is elected every three years to administer and manage the affairs of the organisation. Each member is elected by delegates to the National Hui and each member has portfolio responsibilities around a series of kaupapa from education and health to climate change, law.

The National Executive includes:

  • Henare Mason (Chair) 

  • Harvey Ruru (Deputy Chair) 

  • Matthew Tukaki (Executive Director)

  • Raewyn Harrison 

  • Roimata Minhinnick 

  • Tane Cook 

  • Ngaio Te Ua 

  • Wiremu Puriri 

"Each of the national executive are driven by the kaupapa and we strive to work hard for our people every day ... "